Day 1

I am super excited to begin my garden! I went and collected all of my preliminary things and stayed way under budget (so far) which is already a plus. I typically never start out with seedlings but I wanted to do something different this time around and do more of a challenge. Full size, pre started plants from the store are definitely easy to start out with, but seedlings are a cheaper alternative if you have a bit of know how and what to buy. Before all of this you have to do the planning. I typically know what grows near my house due to past experience. We have pretty loamy soil, some sandy some clay, so it’s pretty hard to control what you have. You can always churn up the topsoil and add a little bit of fertilizer or Miracle Grow All Purpose too if you chose. This year I decided on doing a raised box garden. Typically that’s just a box made of wood filled with dirt. But these are so much easier than constantly bending over and a lot easier to maintain and control. I have about a week to two weeks before I start construction though. The first thing I needed to do was get my seedlings going. I chose to go with the Jiffy Greenhouse seed start kit, definitely in love with this. It makes starting your seedlings crazy easy. It comes with peat pots pre-wrapped so all you have to do is soak them in warm water, dig a hole, plant your seeds and cover them in the plastic cover. The container is reusable too which is a plus. You want to only start seedlings for some plants, most seeds will have the instructions on the back. I started peppers, lettuce and beets for this one. (Beets and lettuce can be temperamental and you typically don’t start them in seedlings but I do what I want and am going to give it a go.) I also love the Burpee brand seeds, so I bought a load of those (and they were on sale, more of a plus). Some of the seedlings might take a while, but we will see what happens!

I also included a video on growing seedlings from Burpee, they are talking about a heating pad for the plants but you don’t necessarily need that. I just keep mine in a warm area and make sure they have water and a little bit of sun. You will want to keep the lid on to keep them warm until they start sprouting, this will help with germination.

Also, be sure not to over water … you don’t want mold. Just enough to keep the peat dark brown.

 

 

Leave a Reply

